Depressed, Anxious and Overwhelmed

Are you feeling alone and stuck? Has life completely flipped on it’s head and your questioning what you even believe anymore? Life altering changes can be traumatic and paralysing and worse still they can be changes instigated by other people or completely out of your control and yet you are drowning in their depths.

This happened to me when my parents split up. It was a messy, abrupt and excruciatingly painful break up. It involved my little brother, he was in the middle and it got toxic. My other siblings were also involved but we had been used to toxicity and fights. We did not even believe this particular fight would result in a break up because of how used to them we were.

I remember feeling so anxious. I realised I had been feeling anxious for nearly a year leading up to this moment. Around my dad I was walking on egg shells, tensing up when he came near and my heart would race when he wanted us to be alone.

I would get overwhelmed when trying to get across my point of view or establish boundaries because inevitably my dad would cross them regardless or act hurt that I wanted a barrier up. He would instigate an extreme form of rejection by gaslighting and looking sour and withdrawing to a seperate space.

Leave a comment